Holiday Tips

Listen to Your Body, Love Your Plate: Celebrating Progress over Perfection this Holiday Season

Merry Christmas!

I hope you have a wonderful day filled with love, joy, and peace. Here are some tips to make following an anti-inflammatory diet during the holiday season a little more manageable:

  • Prepare for Holiday Feasts: Consider bringing a dish that fits your dietary preferences. Salads, curries, or cookies (find links to recipes below!) could be perfect choices.

  • Bring Your Own Drinks: Bringing along your preferred beverages ensures you have something suitable to enjoy and share with others. I like bringing seltzer and kombucha.  

  • Host Gatherings: Organize holiday gatherings in your own space, ensuring the availability of dishes aligned with your needs.

  • Enjoy the Festive Spirit: Remember, celebrations extend beyond food. Embrace cherished traditions and enjoy moments with loved ones.

Open Communication

Politely share your dietary choices with friends and family, offering resources or preparing a dish in advance to facilitate the conversation. Express how these changes have made a positive impact on your well-being, paving the way for a healthier you. Don't forget to sprinkle some heartfelt compliments in your dialogue—appreciation goes a long way!

You could use phrases like:

  • “I've been making some dietary changes lately that have really helped me feel better.”

  • “I'm working on eating foods that support my health and well-being.”

  • “I've found that certain foods make a big difference in managing how I feel.”

The key is to communicate your choices kindly and confidently. You could also include compliments like, “By the way, I've always admired your cooking skills!’ or “Your understanding and support mean a lot to me.” It's important to recognize that when loved ones inquire about your dietary preferences, it's their way of showing care and extending support.

Sweet Treats

Navigating an anti-inflammatory diet during the holidays doesn't have to mean missing out on some treats! Here are two delicious grain-free recipes to enjoy from Ambitious Kitchen: peanut butter chocolate chip cookies and soft pumpkin cookies. I made these recipes plant-based, substituting the eggs with “flax eggs,” and they turned out fantastic. 

In my experience, I've found that an excess of refined sugar can trigger my rheumatoid arthritis symptoms. Managing these symptoms through dietary choices is indeed a journey. This is my first holiday season following an anti-inflammatory diet, and it’s been enlightening. I've had moments of frustration and disappointment, feeling left out from holiday foods and facing symptoms triggered by specific inflammatory foods. Yet, I'm dedicated to my unique path toward autoimmune freedom.

It's a self-reinforcing cycle: sticking to my diet enhances my well-being and effectively manages my symptoms, whereas straying from it leaves me feeling not good. When I hit my sugar limit or notice symptoms emerging, I turn to turmeric and ginger for their soothing effects and renowned anti-inflammatory properties. Sipping tea infused with turmeric and ginger is my comforting remedy, prompting reflection on improvement for next time, and a reminder to honor my body's cues.

Closing Thoughts

To every single one of you who have subscribed, shared, and been part of this journey, I’m deeply grateful. Your support has been a source of strength, encouragement, and light. Hearing your stories of triumph and your moments of clarity is an incredible gift.

Amidst the tempting treats and festive cheer, staying true to your dietary needs can be key to keeping your flares at bay and feeling your best. But we all know it can be tricky navigating holiday gatherings and well-meaning comments from loved ones. 

Embracing self-compassion this season is essential for navigating the intricacies of dietary choices. It allows for flexibility and understanding, acknowledging that perfection isn't the benchmark, especially when it comes to what we eat. It's about being kind to yourself, accepting slip-ups, and focusing on progress. What truly counts is your dedication and sincere effort.

Take good care,

Rebecca