Rheumatoid Arthritis Reflections

Navigating Stairs, Running Miles, and Keeping Stories Silent

When I was a little girl, my dad would carry me down the stairs some mornings because my knees, affected by rheumatoid arthritis (RA), were so stiff. I remember gazing backward, tracing each step as we descended, noting the unique perspective of the staircase.

I’ve been reflecting on this time a lot. Recently, I ran the Cambridge Half Marathon, covering 13.1 miles—the longest distance I have ever run. The overwhelming pride I feel merges with reflections on this milestone. My heart overflows with gratitude for all those who have stood by my side during my battle with rheumatoid arthritis.

Me Running around Harvard Stadium

Running around Harvard Stadium during the Cambridge Half Marathon

This introspection has led me to explore the reasons behind my decision to keep my rheumatoid arthritis diagnosis under wraps for so long. Initially, I convinced myself that I didn't want coaches, teammates, or friends to form preconceived notions about my capabilities. However, as I ponder the past, I wonder: what if I had been more open about my RA? Could I have shattered expectations or enlightened others about rheumatoid arthritis? I find myself questioning who truly benefited from this secrecy. It's a thought that continues to linger within me, challenging my perspectives.

I leave you with some questions to reflect on. Who benefited from your silence about your health challenges? Did it shield you from judgment or limit your ability to inspire others? Looking back, did maintaining secrecy hinder your authenticity? Did it limit the amount of support you received? What aspects of your life were protected or preserved by maintaining this silence?

Take good care,

Rebecca